About Us

Aldeburgh Music Club was founded in 1952 by Benjamin Britten and Peter Pears and has evolved over the years into one of East Anglia's leading choral societies with over one hundred members and supported by more than 120 patrons. The choir rehearses at the Aldeburgh Community Centre on Tuesday evenings from September to May. Our purpose is to share the enjoyment of making music together to the highest possible standard. The Club organises three major concerts a year in which we are joined by professional soloists and orchestras. The Club performs regularly at Snape Maltings Concert Hall. 

Our recent concerts reflect the broad range of music performed by the choir, covering oratorio and religious music, opera, contemporary and commissioned works. The choir celebrated its 60th anniversary at a concert in Orford Church on 10 March 2012, and was a major contributor to the Britten centenary weekend event holding a Britten centenary concert at Orford Church on 23 November 2013. Works specially commissioned by the Club were performed at both concerts.

60th anniversary concert - 10 March 2012

60th anniversary concert


The President of Aldeburgh Music Club is Humphrey Burton CBE. The vice-Presidents are Robin Leggate and Dame Ann Murray. Our professional colleagues are Director of Music and Conductor Edmond Fivet CBE, Orchestra Manager Liz Page and Rehearsal Accompanist Jonathan Rutherford.

Aldeburgh Music Club is generously supported by over 120 patrons, the '100 Club' prize lottery, Sabona Company Ltd and corporate sponsorship from Big House Holidays and Suffolk Cottage Holidays.

The choir is a registered charity, a member of the National Federation of Music Societies and a member of Making Music.

Aldeburgh Music Club is indebted to our corporate sponsors for their help and support: